Winners of the 2011 American Book Awards

The Before Columbus Foundation announces the
Winners of the 32nd Annual

Ceremonies to be held
 Sunday, Oct 16, 2011
University of California, Berkeley, Alumni House

 2 - 5pm
1 Alumni House
Berkeley, CA 94720

Hosted by Department of English, University of California, Berkeley

The AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS award winners are

Keith Gilyard for John Oliver Killens (University of Georgia Press)

Akbar Ahmed for Journey Into America: The Challenge of Islam (Brookings Institution Press)

Camille Dungy for Suck on the Marrow (Red Hen Press)

Karen Tei Yamashita for I Hotel (Coffee House Press)

William W. Cook & James Tatum for African American Writers & Classical Tradition (University of Chicago Press)

Gerald Vizenor for Shrouds of White Earth (SUNY Press)

Eric Gansworth for Extra Indians (Milkweed Editions) 

Ivan Arguelles for The Death of Stalin (Beatitude Press) 

Geoffrey Alan Argent for  The Complete Plays of Jean Racine: The Fratricides (Penn State University Press) 

Neela Vaswani for You Have Given Me A Country (Sarabande Books) 

Sasha Pimentel Chacón for Insides She Swallowed (West End Press) 

Miriam Jimenez Roman & Juan Flores for The Afro-Latin@ Reader: History of Culture in the United States (Duke University Press)

Carmen Gimenez Smith for Bring Down the Little Birds (University of Arizona Press)

Lifetime Achievement Award 2011

John A. Williams

Luis Valdez