BEFORE COLUMBUS FOUNDATION

The Raymond House • 655 -13th Street • Suite 302 • Oakland, California 94612 • (510) 268-9775



August 5, 2010

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Contact: Gundars Strads, 510-642-7321, strads@haas.berkeley.edu or Justin Desmangles, 916-425-7916

The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Thirty-First Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS Ceremonies, Sunday, September 19, 2010, 1:00 – 4:00 p.m.

Oakland, CA—The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Thirty-First Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS. The 2010 American Book Award winners will be formally recognized on Sunday, September 19th from 1:00-4:00 p.m. at the Koret Auditorium, San Francisco Main Library, 100 Larkin Street (at Grove), San Francisco, CA. A reception will take place following the ceremony. This event is open to the public. For more information, call (510) 642-7321.

The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America's diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term "multicultural" to be not a description of various categories, groups, or "special interests," but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers' award given by other writers.

The 2010 American Book Award Winners are:

Amiri Baraka, *Digging: The Afro-American Soul of American Classical Music* (University of California Press)

Sherwin Bitsui, Flood Song (Copper Canyon Press)

Nancy Carnevale, A New Language, A New World: Italian Immigrants in the United States, 1890-

1945 (University of Illinois Press)

Dave Eggers, Zeitoun (McSweeney's/Vintage)

Sesshu Foster, World Ball Notebook (City Lights)

Stephen D. Gutierrez, *Live from Fresno y Los* (Bear Star Press)

Victor Lavalle, The Big Machine (Spiegel & Grau)

François Mandeville, *This Is What They Say*, translated from the Chipewyan by Ron Scollon (University of Washington Press)

Bich Minh Nguyen, Short Girls (Viking)

Franklin Rosemont and Robin D.G. Kelley, editors, *Black, Brown & Beige: Surrealist Writings from Africa and the Diaspora* (University of Texas)

Jerome Rothenberg and Jeffrey C. Robinson, editors, *Poems for the Millennium: Volume Three: The University of California Book of Romantic & Postromantic Poetry* (University of California Press)

Kathryn Waddell Takara, Pacific Raven: Hawai'i Poems (Pacific Raven Press)

Pamela Uschuk, Crazy Love: New Poems (Wings Press)

Lifetime Achievement:

Quincy Troupe

Katha Pollitt

###

Calendar Editors:

What:The Before Columbus Foundation presents the American Book AwardsWhen:Sunday, September 19, 2010, 1:00 PM – 4:00 PMWhere:Koret Auditorium, San Francisco Main Library, 100 Larkin Street, San Francisco, CA

2010 American Book Awards Press Release Page 3