Monthly Archives: July 2015

Media Coverage of 2015 American Book Awards

See what some news outlets have been reporting about this year’s American Book Award recipients:

“Santana Memoir among winners of American Book Awards” – WRAL

“Anne Waldman receives Lifetime Achievement Award” – Lion’s Roar

“‘Brief History of Seven Killings’ wins another award” – Twin Cities



2015 American Book Awards

The recipients of the 2015 American Book Awards have been announced. Find the official press release linked here – contents copied below:

2015 American Book Awards Press Release

The Raymond House • 655 -13th Street • Suite 302 • Oakland, California 94612

July 20, 2015


Contact: Justin Desmangles, 916-425-7916

The Before Columbus Foundation announces the

Winners of the Thirty-Sixth Annual


Ceremonies, October 25, 2015, 2:00–5:00 p.m.

Oakland, CA—The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Thirty-Sixth Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS. The 2015 American Book Award winners will be formally recognized on Sunday, October 25th from 2:00-5:00 p.m. at the SF Jazz Center, Joe Henderson Lab, 201 Franklin Street (at Fell), San Francisco, CA. This event is open to the public.

The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America’s diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term “multicultural” to be not a description of various categories, groups, or “special interests,” but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers’ award given by other writers.

The 2015 American Book Award Winners are:

Hisham Aidi

Rebel Music: Race, Empire, and the New Muslim Youth Culture (Vintage)

Arlene Biala

her beckoning hands (Word Poetry)

Arthur Dong

Forbidden City, USA: Chinese American Nightclubs, 1936-1970 (DeepFocus Productions)

Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz

An Indigenous People’s History of the United States (Beacon Press)

Peter J. Harris

The Black Man of Happiness (Black Man of Happiness Project)

Marlon James

A Brief History of Seven Killings (Riverhead Books)

Martin Kilson

Transformation of the African American Intelligentsia, 1880–2012 (Harvard University Press)

Naomi Klein

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate (Simon & Schuster)

Laila Lalami

The Moor’s Account (Pantheon)

Manuel Luis Martinez

Los Duros (Floricanto Press)

Craig Santos Perez

from unincorporated territory [guma’] (Omnidawn)

Carlos Santana, with Ashley Kahn and Hal Miller

The Universal Tone: Bringing My Story to Light (Little, Brown and Company)

Ira Sukrungruang

Southside Buddhist (University of Tampa Press)

Astra Taylor

The People’s Platform: Taking Back Power and Culture in the Digital Age (Henry Holt)

Lifetime Achievement:

Anne Waldman