2014 American Book Awards

The recipients of the 2014 American Book Awards have been announced. Find the official press release linked here – contents copied below:

2014 American Book Awards Press Release [PDF]


The Raymond House • 655 -13th Street • Suite 302 • Oakland, California 94612

The Before Columbus Foundation announces the

Winners of the Thirty-Fifth Annual


Ceremonies, October 26, 2014, 2:00 – 5:00 p.m.

Oakland, CA—The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Thirty-Fifth Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS. The 2014 American Book Award winners will be formally recognized on Sunday,October 26th from 2:00-5:00 p.m. at the SF Jazz Center, Joe Henderson Lab, 201 Franklin Street (at Fell), San Francisco, CA.This event is open to the public.

The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America’s diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term “multicultural” to be not a description of various categories, groups, or “special interests,” but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers’ award given by other writers.

The 2014 American Book Award Winners are:

Andrew Bacevich

Breach of Trust: How Americans Failed Their Soldiers and Their Country, Metropolitan Books

Joshua Bloom and Waldo E. Martin

Black Against Empire; The History and Politics of the Black Panther Party, University of California Press

Juan Delgado (poetry) and Thomas McGovern (photography)

Vital Signs, Heyday Books

Alex Espinoza

The Five Acts of Diego León, Random House

Jonathan Scott Holloway

Jim Crow Wisdom: Memory and Identity in Black America Since 1940, University of North Carolina Press

Joan Naviyuk Kane

Hyperboreal, University of Pittsburgh Press

Jamaica Kincaid

See Now Then, Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Tanya Olson

Boyishly, YesYes Books

Sterling D. Plumpp

Home/Bass, Third World Press

Emily Raboteau

Searching For Zion: The Quest for Home in the African Diaspora, Atlantic Monthly Press

Jerome Rothenberg with Heriberto Yepez

Eye of Witness: A Jerome Rothenberg Reader, Commonwealth Books

Nick Turse

Kill Anything That Moves: The Real American War in Vietnam, Metropolitan Books

Margaret Wrinkle

Wash, Atlantic Monthly Press

Koon Woon

Water Chasing Water, Kaya Press

Anti-Censorship Award:

Armond White

Lifetime Achievement:

Michael Parenti

Comments are closed.